Zaki Mirza’s Blog

Icon

… About software and beyond!

Windows Live Photo Gallery – A Review


untitled

A sequel to my Windows Live Writer review post, today I review Window Live Photo Gallery, another application in the Windows Live family. This one lets you view, edit, tag, blog about, print, view slide shows of and share photos. This includes photos residing on your local machine, or the ones in your Windows Live account, or ones that are tagged by your Windows Live Messenger contacts.

In this post I will overview the Windows Live Photo Gallery application and what you can do with it. You can download the Windows Live package here to try them out.

Viewing Pictures

untitled6 Windows Live Photo Gallery overrides the usual picture viewer on your operating system – for good! Not only does it have more on-the-tips features, it also is quite light for they load.

The new zoom feature is more powerful than the earlier, almost non-existent, one – and its fast! The usual rotate, fit-to-screen and view slideshow options are still there, with a wee-bit of eye-candy with the slide show option. (Still it would not beat the professional tools like light-room by adobe or any other, but if Microsoft plans to replace this with the standard picture viewer, it would be a refresh!).

Editing Pictures

untitled67 Clicking the fix button while you view a picture shows a side bar of tools to adjust variety of things in the picture – that almost any novice picture collector requires. With the same look and feel as other Windows Live applications, such as Live Writer and Live Messenger, the new UX from Microsoft really stands our and is in-fact starting to impress me after a way long time of crashing applications and bad impressions. Also, Live Photo Gallery comes with an extensibility support, just like Live Writer so that others can create picture editing tools and post them. The users can then install them without a hitch and extend Live Writer functionality. More information about these are available at the Live Photo and Video blog.

One of the cons that I feel straight away is the inability of the Live Photo Gallery to show previews in gallery mode, Hmm. Could be the inability of my operating system, or whatever, but I hope they make it happen sooner or later.

One of the cool features I believe is sharing the photos straight from your machine to your blog(the blog-it feature), Flickr or whichever service you want to – as far as that service has a plug-in for windows live. A lot of these plug-ins are available here. These includes face book, YouTube, smug mug etc. If you feel like hacking into it, you can write your own by using the Live Photo Gallery SDK.

Other Features

untitled33 Other essential features like downloading from camera or scanner, emailing the photo, arranging in albums (and online albums, event albums and group albums on Windows Live), burning a CD, and of course – searching are also pretty handy and self-explorable. One of the neat things that I find useful is the explorer side bar in the gallery mode. This shows your different aspects of your photo collection. From sorting them by dates, or by tags, or the traditional folder view – its the personal preference that can bring you to the photo you want to browse.

There are also several other views available while browsing the photos and a cool new feature is the Table of Contents view that shows you your photographs sorted by albums.

Verdict

Ermm… I would say its a nice utility after a long time from Microsoft, which is free, fresh and cool. Obviously its not even debatable that Windows Live Gallery is the best photo viewing tool out there – yet, but if you want a light application to do all sorts of things then this is definitely the app for you. Also, like always, Microsoft has put in a lot of space for others to extend this product – and I believe that people are already catching up pretty fast, so its only a matter of time that we will see all sorts of useful things coming to the Windows Live family. Now the question is, does Windows Live stand up to Google and Adobe and Facebook and Twitter? Is Microsoft trying to take them all in one go? Perhaps. Too hard to say yet, Since I still dont use Live Mail and Live Search. Windows Live Photo Gallery is a 4.2/5!

Filed under: general, reviews, software, , , , ,

21 Responses

  1. awahid says:

    Interesting read.
    Is it possible to have some of these features in wordpress?

  2. Fahim Akhter says:

    I only concern would be the load time, because I remember the Office Viewer which had a pretty tidy zoom but still got me a bit cranky with the loading.

    I liked this post and how your views are pretty to the point, simple and easy to understand. Good Review.

  3. frank chapin says:

    I have windows live photo gallery installed. I uploaded from a camera memory card, edited the pics and attemted to copy to a CD. It would not copy because of over 700 mb. I reduced to 634 mb as noted in “my pictures”. Photo Gallery stills says over 700 and will not burn CD after several attempts. How do you get the CD wizard to accnowledge 634 MB and burn the CD. I am very frustrated. Can you help?

  4. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are talking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate contract among us

  5. Gigpark.com says:

    I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  6. Quality posts is the crucial to invite the viewers to pay a visit the website, that’s what this site is providing.

  7. Superb blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Many thanks!

  8. Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this
    this web page conations really good funny material
    too.

  9. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  10. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking
    for. Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome blog!

  11. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web page, and piece of writing is
    truly fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these articles
    or reviews.

  12. Heya! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a
    massive amount work? I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start
    a blog so I can share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of
    suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  13. You are so interesting! I don’t think I’ve truly read through anything like that before.
    So wonderful to discover someone with some unique thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that is needed on
    the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  14. gundata.org says:

    Informative article, exactly what I was looking
    for.

  15. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  16. Thanks for finally talking about >Windows Live Photo Gallery
    – A Review | Zaki Mirza’s Blog <Loved it!

  17. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from
    a different web address and thought I should
    check things out. I like what I see so now i am following
    you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.

  18. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got
    to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
    people could connect with it better. Youve
    got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  19. An AC adaptor with an RCA connector cable comes included in this Desk calculator wireless camera.
    With out appropriate lights, readers typically won’t keep coming back again for a further head to. Touching your companion through her clothing is also a great turn on.

  20. Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in
    3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a fair
    price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  21. Holly says:

    Hi there, There’s no doubt that your siite might
    be having web browsr compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Safari, it loioks fine however, when opening in I.E.,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide
    you with a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful
    website!

Leave a Reply

RSS Google Shared Items

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Google Reader Starred Items

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
